Connect with us

WVU Basketball

Jerry West, Rod Thorn to Present Bob Huggins During Hall of Fame Ceremony



During Bob Huggins long awaited Naismith Basketball Memorial Hall of Fame induction on Sept. 10, the current WVU men’s basketball head coach will be presented by Jerry West and Rod Thorn, two West Virginia legends. The Naismith Basketball Memorial Hall of Fame announced the presenters for the inductees on Monday afternoon.

Huggins’ selected presenters, West and Thorn, both have been inducted into the Hall of Fame. West in 1980 and Thorn in 2018. Both West and Thorn are WVU basketball legends as the two have the No. 44 retired together. West played at West Virginia from 1958-60, becoming the program’s all-time leading scorer. Thorn played his time for the Mountaineers from 1961-63 scoring 1,785 points.

Huggins has won 916 career games spanning five coaching tenures at Walsh College, Akron, Cincinnati, Kansas State, and West Virginia. Huggins returned to his alma mater in 2007, taking the Mountaineers to their second Final Four in school history in 2010. He is the second in all-time coaching wins at WVU, with 326 wins.

Huggins, along with all-time players, coaches and officials from the NBA, NCAA and international play have been voted on to determine the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame Class of 2022; the 68-year-old made it to the final stages for the class of 2021 before being left off the list. In February, Huggins was named a finalist once again.

The 2022 Hall of Fame Inductees and Presenters:

Tim Hardaway, presented by Isiah Thomas (’00), Mitch Richmond (‘14), Chris Mullin (‘11), Yolanda Griffith (‘21), Nate Archibald (‘91)

Manu Ginobili, presented by Tim Duncan (’20)

Lindsay Whalen, presented by Dawn Staley (‘13), Charles Barkley (’06)

Swin Cash, presented by Tamika Catchings (‘20), Teresa Weatherspoon (‘19), Tina Thompson (‘18), Isiah Thomas (’00), Geno Auriemma (‘06)

Bob Huggins, presented by Jerry West (‘80), Rod Thorn (‘18)

George Karl, presented by Roy Williams (‘07), Gary Payton (‘13), Bobby Jones (‘19)

Marianne Stanley, presented by Cathy Rush (‘08), Lisa Leslie (‘15), Nancy Lieberman (‘96)

Hugh Evans, presented by Reggie Miller (‘12), George Gervin (‘96)

Theresa Shank-Grentz, presented by Cathy Rush (‘08), Charles Barkley (’06), Vivian Stringer (‘09)

Del Harris, presented by Nancy Lieberman (‘96), John Calipari (‘15), Sidney Moncrief (‘19)

Lou Hudson, presented by Spencer Haywood (‘15), Jamaal Wilkes (‘12)

Larry Costello, presented by Billy Cunningham (‘86), Wayne Embry (‘99), Bob Dandridge (’21)

Radivoj Korac, presented by Spencer Haywood (‘15)

Get WVSN in your mailbox!

Enter your email address to subscribe to WVSN and receive notifications of new posts by email.