Connect with us

WVU Baseball

Preview: The 2020 WVU Baseball Schedule

Avatar

Published

on

The West Virginia University baseball team will play its earliest home opener in program history this February, making the Mountaineers season right around the corner.

On Tuesday, Feb. 18, Canisius will travel to Morgantown for a 2 p.m. first pitch. On a frigid day last February, the Mountaineers walked off the Golden Griffins. The game will be the second-ever February home game in Morgantown, topping and previous record from last season (Feb. 19, 2019).

The Mountaineers will open the season the weekend prior at John Sessions Stadium against Jacksonville during Valentine’s Day weekend — Feb 14, 15 and 16.

WVU’s 52-game scheduled is highlighted by 24 home games and four Big 12 three-game series at Monongalia County Ballpark. WVU baseball will also play host to one of two games against rivals Marshall and Pittsburgh.

“We’re really excited about playing another challenging schedule,” WVU coach Randy Mazey said in a WVU communications press release. “We always look forward to playing tough games in the Big 12, and our nonconference opponents will only add more tests for the team. We can’t wait for the opportunity to get our season started.”

Four, three-game weekend series will be played at Monongalia County Ballpark against Big 12 opponents including Texas (April 3-5), Kansas State (April 17-19), Oklahoma State (April 24-26) and Baylor (May 1-3). Also at home, WVU will host George Mason for a three-game series from March 27-29, as well as the College of Charleston from May 8-10.

Pittsburgh will travel to Morgantown Tuesday, May 12 with first-pitch at 6:30 p.m. The Panthers will also take on the Mountaineers in Pittsburgh on Tuesday, March 31. Marshall will travel to the Mon Tuesday, April 21 with a 6:30 first pitch and host the WVU earlier in the season at 6 p.m. March 25.

The 2020 Mountaineer Baseball team will play 22 home games at Monongalia County Ballpark in Morgantown. (Photo by Kelsie LeRose)

2020 Baseball Schedule released by West Virginia University Athletics

Feb 14 (Fri) 6 p.m. Feb 15 (Sat) 2 p.m. and Feb 16 (Sun) 1 p.m. at Jacksonville in Jacksonville, Fla. John Sessions Stadium

Feb 18 (Tue) 2 p.m. vs Canisius Morgantown Monongalia County Ballpark

Brittain Resorts Invitational
Feb 21 (Fri) 1 p.m. vs Kennesaw State
Feb 22 (Sat) 2 p.m. vs Saint Joseph’s
Feb 23 (Sun) 11:30 a.m. vs Illinois
All three games at Myrtle Beach, S.C. TicketReturn.Com Field at Pelicans Ballpark
Feb 24 (Mon) 12 p.m. at Coastal Carolina Conway, S.C. Springs Brooks Stadium

Central Virginia Challenge
Feb 28 (Fri) 3 p.m. at VCU Richmond, Va. The Diamond
Feb 29 (Sat) 2 p.m. at William & Mary Williamsburg, Va. Plumeri Park
Mar 1 (Sun) 12 p.m. at Richmond Richmond, Va. Pitt Field

Mar 6 (Fri) 6 p.m. at Mercer Macon, Ga. OrthoGeorgia Park
Mar 7 (Sat) 2 p.m. at Mercer
Mar 8 (Sun) 1 p.m. at Mercer

Mar 11 (Wed) 3 p.m. vs Liberty Morgantown Monongalia County Ballpark

Mar 13 (Fri) 7:30 p.m. at Texas Tech Lubbock, Texas Dan Law Field at Rip Griffin Park
Mar 14 (Sat) 3 p.m. at Texas Tech
Mar 15 (Sun) 2 p.m. at Texas Tech

Mar 20 (Fri) TBA at Kansas Lawrence, Kan. Hoglund Ballpark
Mar 21 (Sat) TBA at Kansas
Mar 22 (Sun) TBA at Kansas

Mar 25 (Wed) 6 p.m. at Marshall Charleston Appalachian Power Park

Mar 27 (Fri) 6:30 p.m. vs George Mason Morgantown Monongalia County Ballpark
Mar 28 (Sat) 3 p.m. vs George Mason
Mar 29 (Sun) 1 p.m. vs George Mason

Mar 31 (Tue) TBA at Pitt Pittsburgh, Pa.

Apr 3 (Fri) 6:30 p.m. vs Texas Morgantown Monongalia County Ballpark
Apr 4 (Sat) 4 p.m. vs Texas
Apr 5 (Sun) 1 p.m. vs Texas

Apr 7 (Tue) 6:30 p.m. vs Maryland Morgantown Monongalia County Ballpark

Apr 9 (Thu) 7:30 p.m. at TCU Fort Worth, Texas Lupton Baseball Stadium
Apr 10 (Fri) 7:30 p.m. at TCU
Apr 11 (Sat) 3 p.m. at TCU

Apr 14 (Tue) 6:30 p.m. vs Akron Morgantown Monongalia County Ballpark

Apr 17 (Fri) 6:30 p.m. vs Kansas State Morgantown Monongalia County Ballpark
Apr 18 (Sat) 6:30 p.m. vs Kansas State
Apr 19 (Sun) 1 p.m. vs Kansas State

Apr 21 (Tue) 6:30 p.m. vs Marshall Morgantown Monongalia County Ballpark

Apr 24 (Fri) 6:30 p.m. vs Oklahoma State Morgantown Monongalia County Ballpark
Apr 25 (Sat) 4 p.m. vs Oklahoma State
Apr 26 (Sun) 1 p.m. vs Oklahoma State

Apr 28 (Tue) 6:30 p.m. at Penn State University Park, Pa. Medlar Field at Lubrano Park

May 1 (Fri) 6:30 p.m. vs Baylor Morgantown Monongalia County Ballpark
May 2 (Sat) 4 p.m. vs Baylor
May 3 (Sun) 1 p.m. vs Baylor

May 8 (Fri) 6:30 p.m. vs College of Charleston Morgantown Monongalia County Ballpark
May 9 (Sat) 4 p.m. vs College of Charleston
May 10 (Sun) 1 p.m. vs College of Charleston

May 12 (Tue) 6:30 p.m. vs Pitt Morgantown Monongalia County Ballpark

May 15 (Fri) TBA at Oklahoma Norman, Okla. L. Dale Mitchell Park
May 16 (Sat) TBA at Oklahoma
May 17 (Sun) TBA at Oklahoma

The 2020 season is coming off of the Mountaineers’ successful season, finishing with a 32-22 record. WVU reached the NCAA Tournament for the second time in three years and hosted a Super Regional, the first time since 1955. They also played in the Big 12 Championship final for the second time in four seasons.

Multi-award winning Mountaineer pitcher Alec Manoah was selected no. 11 overall in the 2019 MLB draft to go to the Toronto Blue Jays. Manoah becomes the second player in the history of the Mountaineer baseball program to be drafted in the top 15 of the draft. As a Mountaineer, he was named the Big 12 Pitcher of the Year and a first-team All-American.

Seven other Mountaineer baseball alums were also selected in the draft. Additionally, Mazey was named the Big 12 Coach of the Year last season after leading the squad to a top-25 ranking in each of the final eight weeks of the season.

Welcome to the new home of WVU football and basketball breaking news, analysis and recruiting. Like us on Facebook, follow us on Twitter and check us out on YouTube. And don't forget to subscribe for all of our articles delivered directly to your inbox.
Advertisement
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Become a Subscriber!

Stay up to date on the latest news, all for FREE

Send this to a friend