Connect with us

WVU Football

WVU CB Beanie Bishop Jr. Listed as Bednarik Award Semifinalist



WVU Football Beanie Bishop Jr. and Aubrey Burks

WVU CB Beanie Bishop Jr. has been selected as a Bednarik Award Semifinalist on Monday afternoon. Bishop, a transfer from Minnesota, leads the country in passes deflected and pass breakups.

Bednarik Award Semifinalists:

LB Dallas Turner, Alabama
LB Jeremiah Trotter Jr, Clemson
DB Malaki Starks, Georgia
DL Jer’Zhan Newton, Illinois
DB Cooper DeJean, Iowa
DB T.J Tampa, Iowa State
DL Jalen Green, James Madison
DL Ashton Gillotte, Louisville
DL Kris Jenkins, Michigan
DB Kris Abrams-Draine, Missouri
LB Payton Wilson, NC State
DL Howard Cross III, Notre Dame
LB Tommy Eichenberg, Ohio State
LB Jason Henderson, Old Dominion
DL T’Vondre Sweat, Texas
LB Edgerrin Cooper, Texas A&M
CB Quinyon Mitchell, Toledo
DL Laiatu Latu, UCLA
DE Jonah Elliss, Utah
CB Beanie Bishop Jr., West Virginia

West Virginia’s program has not had a recipient of the award since its inception in 1995. The award is named after Chuck Bednarik, who is a Pro Football and College Football Hall of Famer. Bednarik is the last NFL player to play on both sides of the ball. Bednarik played for the Philadelphia Eagles from 1949-62, winning two NFL Championships and was selected to 10 All-Pro First-Team.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Get WVSN in your mailbox!

Enter your email address to subscribe to WVSN and receive notifications of new posts by email.