Connect with us

WVU Basketball

WVU’s Oscar Tshiebwe Named to Karl Malone Award Watchlist



West Virginia men’s basketball big man Oscar Tshiebwe has been named to the 2021 Karl Malone Power Forward of the year Award watchlist, the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame Announced Thursday.

The award, named after hall of famer and two-time NBA MVP Karl Malone, is given to the nation’s top power forward in Division I basketball. 20 student-athletes were named to the watchlist. In January the list will be pruned down to 10 candidates and then down to five in February. The winner, as chosen by Malone and the Hall of Fame’s selection committee, will be announced on April 9, 2021.

Tshiebwe was the Mountaineers’ leading scorer and rebounder last season. The preseason All-Big 12 selection averaged 11.2 points and 9.3 rebounds in 31 games as a true freshman. He was also recently named to the Preseason All-Big 12 team.

Other Big 12 players on the list include Baylor Mark Vital, Oklahoma’s Brady Manek and Texas’ Greg Brown. The full 20-member watch list is:

Mark VitalBaylor
Aamir SimmsClemson
Matthew HurtDuke
Drew TimmeGonzaga
Trayce Jackson-DavisIndiana
Isaiah JacksonKentucky
Trendon WatfordLSU
Tre MitchellMassachusetts
Garrison BrooksNorth Carolina
Seth TownsOhio State
Brady ManekOklahoma
Hasahn FrenchSaint Louis
Sandro MamukelashviliSeton Hall
Oscar da SilvaStanford
John FulkersonTennessee
Greg BrownTexas
Kevin MarfoTexas A&M
Jeremiah Robinson-EarlVillanova
Oscar TshiebweWest Virginia
Nate ReuversWisconsin
Welcome to the new home of WVU football and basketball breaking news, analysis and recruiting. Like us on Facebook, follow us on Twitter and check us out on YouTube. And don't forget to subscribe for all of our articles delivered directly to your inbox.

Get WVSN in your mailbox!

Enter your email address to subscribe to WVSN and receive notifications of new posts by email.