Connect with us

Big 12

Big 12 Reveals WVU Football’s Future Conference Schedules



Big 12 logo on UCF field

As the Big 12 shifts into a new era at the start of the 2024 football season, the conference announced the 16-team upcoming schedule matrix on Wednesday that extends throughout the 2027 year.

Big 12 commissioner Brett Yormark released a statement along with the unveiling of each program’s schedules.

“As we look towards the future of this Conference, we are thrilled to introduce the first football scheduling matrix for the new-look Big 12,” said Commissioner Brett Yormark. “I’m grateful to our membership for their support throughout the scheduling process. In this model, competitive balance and student-athlete wellness was prioritized. Rivalries will be protected and new matchups will be introduced – the excitement and parity this Conference is known for will continue for years to come.”

WVU’s conference schedule for the next four seasons is listed below.

West Virginia Football Big 12 Schedule (2024-27)


Home: Baylor, Iowa State, Kansas, Kansas State, UCF

Away: Arizona, Cincinnati, Oklahoma State, Texas Tech


Home: Colorado, TCU, Texas Tech, Utah

Road: Arizona State, BYU, Houston, Kansas, UCF


Home: Arizona, Cincinnati, Houston, Kansas, Oklahoma State

Road: Iowa State, TCU, Texas Tech, Utah


Home: Arizona State, BYU, Iowa State, UCF

Road: Baylor, Cincinnati, Colorado, Kansas State, Oklahoma State

The Big 12’s full statement and explanation of how they put the schedules together can be read below.

During the four years, all teams will play one another at least once home and away. Some matchups will occur over three seasons while others take place in all four. Matchups in 2024 that were also played in 2023 will not repeat at the same site.

The Conference looked to maintain the current 5/4, 4/5 home/away rotation for all 16 members to minimize non conference scheduling disruptions. Other important factors were balancing annual travel by distance and time zones as well as maintaining connectivity to rivalries without compromising a balanced rotation for all teams.

The Big 12 will compete as a 16-team conference for the first time in 2024. Arizona, Arizona State, Colorado and Utah will become members in the summer of 2024 joining Baylor, BYU, UCF, Cincinnati, Houston, Iowa State, Kansas, Kansas State, Oklahoma State, TCU, Texas Tech and West Virginia.

Get WVSN in your mailbox!

Enter your email address to subscribe to WVSN and receive notifications of new posts by email.