Connect with us

WVU Men’s Soccer

WVU Soccer Defender Bjarne Thiesen Named to Hermann Trophy Watch List



WVU soccer field

Bjarne Thiesen, a redshirt junior defender on the West Virginia men’s soccer team, was named to the 2022 Missouri Athletic Club (MAC) Hermann Trophy Watch List on Thursday afternoon.

The award is given annually to the National Player of the Year, who is chosen by votes of Division I coaches who are members of United Soccer Coaches. The Hermann Trophy is regarded as the equivalent to the Heisman Trophy for college soccer.

A total of 38 players were chosen for the list. Thiesen is one of only 11 players selected that have earned a previous All-American status. The Kiel, Germany, native was named to the All-America Third Team by United Soccer Coaches and TopDrawerSoccer in 2021.

Thiesen also becomes the fifth Mountaineer men’s player to be named to the Hermann Trophy Watch List, including the first since Eric Schoenle in 2012. The recognition comes after he was selected to the Preseason All-Sun Belt Team, as well as TopDrawerSoccer’s Preseason Best XI First Team.

Last season, Thiesen started all 21 of West Virginia’s matches, scoring two goals while helping the Mountaineers tally nine shutouts en route to a 12-3-6 record, including an 8-0-3 mark in Morgantown.

Fifteen men’s players and 15 women’s players will become Hermann Trophy semifinalists on Nov. 30, following the completion of Division I All-America voting. On Dec. 7, the top three players from a final round of voting will be named finalists. The 2022 winner will be revealed during a ceremony on Jan. 6, 2023, at the historic Missouri Athletic Club in St. Louis, Mo.

Get WVSN in your mailbox!

Enter your email address to subscribe to WVSN and receive notifications of new posts by email.