Connect with us

Big 12

Brett Yormark Talks Future of Big 12 Basketball Tournaments



Big 12 Brett Yormark

Big 12 Commissioner Brett Yormark announced on Tuesday night that Kansas City will remain the host of the conference basketball tournaments through 2031. Yormark also announced that the future conference tournaments for men’s and women’s basketball will include all 16 teams once expanded next season. The Big 12 will officially add Arizona, Arizona State, Colorado and Utah for the 2024-25 season.

Kansas City has hosted the Big 12 tournaments since 2010 and will continue for the next seven years at least.

“I’d like to thank again the T-Mobile Center. It’s an incredible venue and they’ve been a wonderful partner,” Yormark said.

With conference realignment creating larger power conferences, the ACC and Big Ten have been ahead of the curve in having a cutoff mark for their future conference tournaments. The ACC, who will add Cal, SMU and Stanford next year, will only accept the top 15 teams in their league. The Big Ten adds Oregon, UCLA, USC and Washington next year and will also allow the top 15 teams to compete for the automatic NCAA Tournament bid.

Yormark is very confident in his decision about including all 16 Big 12 teams in the future conference tournaments in men’s and women’s basketball.

Get WVSN in your mailbox!

Enter your email address to subscribe to WVSN and receive notifications of new posts by email.