Connect with us

WVU Basketball

WVU Alumni Welcome Darian DeVries with Supporting Message



WVU Basketball HC Darian DeVries

Former WVU F John Flowers presented HC Darian DeVries with an endorsement message from West Virginia Basketball alumni, welcoming DeVries to the brotherhood.

“On behalf of the West Virginia University basketball alumni brotherhood, we want to just say congratulations on becoming the head coach of WVU, and welcome to Morgantown.

“Morgantown and West Virginia are very special places. There are no pro teams in the state, so WVU athletics means a lot to the people here. As you may have seen from your welcome, West Virginia is full of good hearted, hard working, blue collar people. That is what the state is all about.

“Over the years, we have made an intentional effort to grow a strong alumni connection, and form a brotherhood between WVU alumni basketball players from across the years. It started with Coach Bob Huggins building the alumni locker for former players that are still actively playing professionally, and there are over 20+ alumni players still playing.

“There aren’t many universities where a recruit can walk in and get the chance to see former players still welcomed back to use the facilities, and we are proud of that. We wanted to say that we are happy, and appreciate you carrying on that tradition.

“With that being said, we as alumni are excited for the new chapter of WVU basketball, and we’re sure the team that you produce on the court, will reflect everything that has made West Virginia University basketball so special.”

Here’s the list of alumni endorsing Flowers’ message:

Devin Ebanks, Joe Mazzulla, Cam Thoroughman, Jonnie West, Rob Summers, Frank Young, Darris Nichols, Truck Bryant, Jaysean Paige, Erik Stevenson, Jevon Carter, Miles “Deuce” McBride, Joe Alexander, Jamie Smalligan, Teyvon Myers, Tarik Phillip, Nathan Adrian, Esa Ahmad, Gary Browne, James Long, Chase Harler, Gabe Osabuohien, Daxter Miles Jr., Logan Routt, Mike Gansey, Darryl Prue, Herbie Brooks, Brent Solheim, Jarrod West, Casey Mitchell, Cam Payne, Wellington Smith, Deniz Kilicli, Dalton Pepper, Kevin Jones, Dominique Rutledge, Tyrone Sally, Spencer Macke, Emmitt Matthews, Marcus Goree, Josh Yeager, Jonathan Holton, Devin Williams, Brandon Watkins, Elijah Macon, Maurice “Mo” Robinson, Tony Robertson, Ernie Hall, Sid Bostick, Dennis Hosey, Dana Perno, Will Robinson, John Goots, Dave McCardle, Lowes Moore, Dave Allara, Junius Lewis, Larry Woods, Warren “Bake” Baker, Jess Hutson, Greg Nance, Donnie Gipson, Eartha Faust, Greg Jones, Andrew Sorine

Get WVSN in your mailbox!

Enter your email address to subscribe to WVSN and receive notifications of new posts by email.