Connect with us

WVU Football

WVU Football’s Jackson Selected to Coaches Leadership Institute



MORGANTOWN, W.Va. – WVU Football’s Andrew Jackson was awarded on Tuesday as a member of the American Football Coaches Association’s 35 Under 35 Leadership Initiative.

The defensive line coach joins a mixture of high school, NCAA and NFL coaches on the list. Jackson was added to the Mountaineer staff last January after an already illustrious defensive coaching career; stints with Old Dominion, James Madison, Mississippi State, Fordham, Penn State, Stony Brook, and LIU-Post allowed him the defensive coaching experience to succeed in another Power-5 atmosphere.

In order to become eligible for this prestigious group of coaches, Jackson had to first submit a resume, five references, and a 1,600-word article or five-minute live instructional video on a position-specific topic of his choosing. Then, he was selected from the pool of applicants more than 200-deep as one of the 35 individuals allowed to participate in the institute in 2022.

This one-day conference allows participants to work toward becoming “premier, future leaders in the football coaching profession.” Topics discussed are tailored to emphasize coaching leadership, ethical decision making, influential responsibilities, career progression, and family balance.

He is joined by Michael Banks (Illinois State), Nick Charlton (UConn), Jack Cooper (Rhode Island), Billy Cosh (VMI), Nick Davis (Ottawa U), Malcolm Dixon (Coastal Carolina), Todd Drury (Missouri S&T), Julian Griffin (UTSA), Zach Hanson (Tulsa), Cody Hawkins (UC Davis), Jeremy Hawkins (Eastern Kentucky), Brock Hays (Louisiana Tech), Ryan Jirgl (Oberlin), Jerrod Johnson (Indianapolis Colts), Gregory Jones (Wake Forest), Stephen Jones (El Dorado High School), Randall Joyner (Ole Miss), Jake Landry (Temple), DJ Mangas (LSU), Mickey Mental (Notre Dame College), Brian Metz (Ohio U), Mike Mickens (Notre Dame), Mike Miller (Maryland), CJ Nightingale (Wheaton College), William Peagler (Michigan State), Ryan Smith (Virginia Tech), Will Stein (UTSA), AJ Steward (Oregon State), Tyler Stockton (Ball State), Tyler Sutton (San Diego), Pete Thomas (Louisville), Frederick Walker (UMass), Michael Washington (Coastal Carolina), and Dallas Whitaker (Somerville High School).

Welcome to the new home of WVU football and basketball breaking news, analysis and recruiting. Like us on Facebook, follow us on Twitter and check us out on YouTube. And don't forget to subscribe for all of our articles delivered directly to your inbox.

Get WVSN in your mailbox!

Enter your email address to subscribe to WVSN and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Sign up for the best in WVU sports!

Subscribe to WVSN today and get all of our posts directly in your inbox the second they're published.

Thank you for subscribing.

Something went wrong.

Send this to a friend