Connect with us

WVU Football

West Virginia’s 2022 Football Schedule Released

Published

on

Despite an up-and-down 2021 season, West Virginia has a chance to win a bowl game and enter the 2022 season on a high note. And the Mountaineers will need it as the 2022 season schedule has been announced.

WVU opens the 2022 season with the renewal of the Backyard Brawl against Pitt at Heinz Field in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania on Sept. 3. For the first time since 2011, the Mountaineers and the Panthers will face off for one of the most historic rivalries in college football.

The Big 12 schedule begins in Week 2 with a home game against Kansas on Sept. 10 before the non-conference schedule concludes with a two week stretch of hosting Towson on Sept. 17 and traveling to Blacksburg, Virginia for an away game against Virginia Tech — an attempt to keep the Black Diamond Trophy for the second consecutive year.

WVU’s true Big 12 schedule begins against Texas, traveling to Austin, Texas on Oct. 1, with a bye week over the weekend of Oct. 8, before the brunt of the Mountaineers’ schedule begins.

WVU alternates home and away games against Baylor, Texas Tech, TCU and Iowa State over the following four weeks — with the game against Baylor coming on a Thursday night — before back-to-back home games against Oklahoma and Kansas State on Nov. 12 and Nov. 19.

The regular season finale comes on Nov. 26 in Stillwater, Oklahoma against Oklahoma State, and the Big 12 championship game, should WVU make it, is scheduled for Dec. 3.

All of the times for WVU’s 2022 games are still be determined at a later date.

WVU 2022 Schedule

Saturday, Sept. 3 – at Pitt

Saturday, Sept. 10 – Kansas

Saturday, Sept. 17 – Towson

Saturday, Sept. 24 – at Virginia Tech

Saturday, Oct. 1 – at Texas

Saturday, Oct. 8 – bye week

Thursday, Oct. 13 – Baylor

Saturday, Oct. 22 – at Texas Tech

Saturday, Oct. 29 – TCU

Saturday, Nov. 5 – at Iowa State

Saturday, Oct. 12 – Oklahoma

Saturday, Oct. 19 – Kansas State

Saturday, Nov. 26 – at Oklahoma State

Saturday, Dec. 3 – Big 12 Championship

Welcome to the new home of WVU football and basketball breaking news, analysis and recruiting. Like us on Facebook, follow us on Twitter and check us out on YouTube. And don't forget to subscribe for all of our articles delivered directly to your inbox.

Get WVSN in your mailbox!

Enter your email address to subscribe to WVSN and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Sign up for the best in WVU sports!

Subscribe to WVSN today and get all of our posts directly in your inbox the second they're published.

Thank you for subscribing.

Something went wrong.

Send this to a friend