Connect with us

WVU Athletics

Another WVU Track Star Qualifies to Compete at Olympics

Published

on

Paris Olympics

Another WVU track star will represent her country and West Virginia in the 2024 Olympic Games. Amy Cashin has qualified to run in the women’s 3,000-meter steeplechase.

This will mark Cashin’s second career appearance in an Olympics after finishing 24th in the women’s steeplechase at the Tokyo Games in 2021.

“What a very special moment for Amy tonight,” WVU coach Sean Cleary said in a statement when Cashin qualified in 2021. “We are all very excited to watch the next few months unfold for Amy in her journey to qualify for the Olympics. We feel her performance went a long way towards helping her dreams come true.”

Earlier this spring, the Werribee, Victoria, Australia, native finished first in the steeplechase at the Australian Championships with a time of 9:39.53. Cashin also collected a gold medal at the Oceania Athletics Championships, running for a time of 9:41.54 in the steeplechase.

As a Mountaineer, Cashin was the first woman in program history to record a sub-10 minute time in the 3,000-meter steeplechase. She set the program record in 2018 at 9:58.75.

Cashin joins senior Ceili McCabe who will also compete in the steeplechase at the Paris Olympics on June 27. The pair will race in the first round of the steeplechase on August 4 at 4:05 a.m. ET/10:05 CET. The final round of the steeplechase is set for August 6 at 3:10 p.m. ET/21:10 CET.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Get WVSN in your mailbox!

Enter your email address to subscribe to WVSN and receive notifications of new posts by email.

COMPLETE COVERAGE