Connect with us

Big 12

Oklahoma, Texas to Depart Big 12 Conference For SEC in 2024



Photo: Caten Hyde

The Big 12 Conference announced on Thursday night that they have reached an agreement with the University of Oklahoma and University of Texas to depart for the SEC Conference following the 2023-24 athletic year.

Oklahoma and Texas will be leaving the conference one year ahead of schedule.

“As I have consistently stated, the Conference would only agree to an early withdrawal if it was in our best interest for Oklahoma and Texas to depart prior to June 30, 2025,” said Commissioner Brett Yormark. “By reaching this agreement, we are now able to accelerate our new beginning as a 12-team league and move forward in earnest with our initiatives and future planning. I appreciate the approaches of OU President Joe Harroz and UT President Jay Hartzell to ensure an amicable conclusion to this process, and look forward to the bright days ahead for the Big 12 Conference.”

Oklahoma and Texas will pay a combined total of $100M for an early withdrawal compensation.

Back in the summer of 2021, Oklahoma and Texas announced their allegiance with the SEC Conference, pledging to join in 2025.

The Big 12 welcomes BYU, Central Florida, Cincinnati and Houston to the conference, starting on July 1, 2023. The Big 12 will have one athletic year with 14 teams. After OU and UT leave, the conference will be standing with 12 schools.

Get WVSN in your mailbox!

Enter your email address to subscribe to WVSN and receive notifications of new posts by email.