Connect with us

Big 12

WVU Releases 2018 Award Winners



Earlier this afternoon, the Mountaineer coaching staff released the 2018 West Virginia Football Awards, acknowledging players for their performances on and off of the field.

Here’s a look at this year’s winners.


Ed Pastilong Captain’s Award- Dravon Askew Henry (RS Sr. Safety) and Trevon Wesco (RS Sr. Tight End)

Formerly known as the Ed Pastilong MVP Award, this prestigious honor now recognizes two players who excel on the field, in the classroom, and as young men. Askew-Henry was a four-year starter, finishing the 2018 season with 47 tackles and two interceptions. Wesco took home All-Big 12 honors after snagging 24 catches for 352 yards and a touchdown.



Mr. Unselfish Award – Jovanni Stewart (Jr. Linebacker)

This is a rather self-explanatory award and honors an even more obvious recipient. Stewart originally committed to West Virginia as safety before a slew of injuries forced the coaching staff to move Stewart to linebacker. Though undersized at 5-foot-8 and 191-pounds, the Texas native proved invaluable to the 2018 defense, totaling 49 tackles and 9.5 tackles for loss.



Curtis Jones Jr. Award – Trevon Wesco (RS Sr. Tight End)

Similar to the Captain’s Award, the Curtis Jones Jr. Award is given annually to a student-athlete that performs admirably on the field and in the classroom.



Defensive Scout Team Player of the Year Award – Tavis Lee (Fr. Defensive Lineman) 

A former three-star recruit and in-state product (Martinsburg, WV), Lee came to West Virginia as a linebacker but added 30 (good) pounds and was placed on the defensive line. This award recognizes players who have performed well in practice and are typically looked at as future impact players. Former winners include David Long Jr., Logan Thimons, and Deamonte Lindsay.



Offensive Scout Team Player of the Year – Trent Jackson (Fr. Quarterback)

Another “practice warrior” award, Jackson committed to the Mountaineers as a preferred walk-on and has been tasked with learning and executing an opponent’s offense on a week-to-week basis.



Special Teams Scout Player of the year – Devin Wade (RS Junior Defensive Back)

Wade committed to West Virginia as a running back but converted to corner shortly after arriving to Morgantown.



Special Teams Player of the Year – Evan Staley (RS Soph. Kicker)

Staley made 12-of-16 field goals this season, including 7-of-9 on kicks over 40 yards and a season-long of 49 yards, and connected on all 59 of his extra point tries.



Defensive Player of the Year – David Long Jr. (RS Junior)

This one comes as no surprise. Long was named a second team All-American after tallying 97 tackles, a team-best 18.5 tackles for loss, and seven sacks.



Offensive Player of the Year – David Sills (RS Senior Wide Receiver)

Sills took home All-American and All-Big 12 honors for the second year in a row after hauling in 61 catches for 896 yards and 15 touchdowns. The former quarterback prodigy becomes the only Mountaineer in the program’s history to finish with two 15 touchdown seasons and leads the nation with 33 touchdown catches over the past two seasons.


Get WVSN in your mailbox!

Enter your email address to subscribe to WVSN and receive notifications of new posts by email.