Connect with us

WVU Basketball

Tshiebwe Named to NABC All-District First Team



Standout West Virginia freshman Oscar Tshiebwe earned another honor Monday, being named to the National Association of Basketball Coaches (NABC) All-District 8 First Team.

Tshiebwe was the lone Mountaineer to land on an NABC team. He is joined on the first team by Kansas’s Davin Dotson and Udoka Azubuike, Baylor’s Jared Butler and Texas Tech’s Jahmi’us Ramsey.

The District 8 second team consisted of Tyrese Haliburton (Iowa State), MaCio Teague (Baylor), Kristian Doolittle (Oklahoma), Freddie Gillespie (Baylor) and Desmond Bane (TCU). Baylor’s Scott Drew was named the Coach of the Year.

Tshiebwe was also named to the All-Big 12 second team earlier this month.

Tshiebwe lead the Mountaineers in scoring (11.1 points per game) and rebounding (9.3) this season. He finished second in the Big 12 in rebounds (287) and first in offensive rebounds (128). He finished sixth in the nation in offensive rebounds.

Tshiebwe broke WVU’s record for most rebounds by a freshman, previously held by Warren Baker with 279 in 1974.

Welcome to the new home of WVU football and basketball breaking news, analysis and recruiting. Like us on Facebook, follow us on Twitter and check us out on YouTube. And don't forget to subscribe for all of our articles delivered directly to your inbox.

Cody spent the last two years getting his master's degree in journalism from WVU. He graduated from Slippery Rock University in 2018 with a degree in digital media production. He was born and raised in Mercer, Pennsylvania.

Get WVSN in your mailbox!

Enter your email address to subscribe to WVSN and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Sign up for the best in WVU sports!

Subscribe to WVSN today and get all of our posts directly in your inbox the second they're published.

Thank you for subscribing.

Something went wrong.

Send this to a friend