Connect with us

WVU Basketball

WVU’s Derek Culver Named to Abdul-Jabbar Award Watch List



West Virginia men’s basketball junior Derek Culver has been named to the 2021 Kareem Abdul-Jabbar Center of the Year Award watch list, the Naismith Basketball Hall of Fame announced Friday.

The award, named after three-time NCAA champion Kareem Abdul-Jabbar, is given to the nation’s top center in all of Division I basketball. 20 student-athletes were named to the watchlist. In January the list will be pruned down to 10 candidates and then down to five in February. The winner, as chosen by Abdul-Jabbar and the Hall of Fame’s selection committee, will be announced on April 9, 2021.

Culver was the second-leading scorer and rebounder for the Mountaineers last season. He averaged 10.4 points and 8.6 rebounds in 31 games. He was recently named a preseason Big 12 honorable mention. Fellow WVU big man Oscar Tshiebwe was named to the Karl Malone Power Forward of the Year Awar Watch List yesterday.

Culver was the only player from the Big 12 named to the watch list. The full 20-player list is:

Matt Haarms BYU
Mark Williams Duke
Kofi Cockburn Illinois
Luka Garza Iowa
Olivier Sarr Kentucky
Ahsan Asadullah Lipscomb
Cameron Krutwig Loyola Chicago
Mousa Cisse Memphis
Liam Robbins Minnesota
Armando Bacot North Carolina
Walker Kessler North Carolina
Trevion Williams Purdue
Grant Golden Richmond
Evan Mobley USC
Neemias Queta Utah State
Jay Huff Virginia
Derek Culver West Virginia
Charles Bassey Western Kentucky
Micah Potter Wisconsin
Loudon Love Wright State
Welcome to the new home of WVU football and basketball breaking news, analysis and recruiting. Like us on Facebook, follow us on Twitter and check us out on YouTube. And don't forget to subscribe for all of our articles delivered directly to your inbox.

Get WVSN in your mailbox!

Enter your email address to subscribe to WVSN and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Sign up for the best in WVU sports!

Subscribe to WVSN today and get all of our posts directly in your inbox the second they're published.

Thank you for subscribing.

Something went wrong.